My Top 7 Current Fave Let’s Players

For all its flaws, YouTube is very important to me. Not only is it a great tool for discovering new things and people, but it also provides me with hours of entertainment every day. While there are a variety of people I watch on YouTube, one of the first things that brought me to the platform was let’s plays. I originally used them to figure out where I was if I got stuck in a game, but over time they’ve become one of my favorite things to watch online.

So, I’m pulling double duty from last week and doing another list. However, since I want to keep this list mainly to people who started out doing LPs (sorry PeanutButterGamer and ProJared), I’m only going to focus on my top 7. Keep in mind that my list is based on who I watch, and there are many popular let’s play channels that I either don’t follow or no longer follow. With that, let’s get started!

7. TheRunawayGuys

the_runaway_guys_by_narutodude96-d4g0agl

I stumbled across these guys through a combination of finding Chuggaaconroy (Emile) on my own and my fiance introducing me to ProtonJon (Jon). I also watched a bit of NintendoCapriSun (Tim) afterwards as well. Although I don’t watch them individually anymore, I still love their dynamic on TheRunawayGuys. Their friendship really shines whenever they tackle multiplayer games like the Mario Party series or casual stuff like “Wheel of Fortune”, and I’m still  following their “Dokapon Kingdom” let’s play since it began years ago. While I don’t follow their channel as often as I used to, they still deserve to be on this list.

6. Video Games Awesome

post_pax_2012_vga1-640x360.jpg

I’m slightly cheating with this one, because while “Video Games Awesome” is the first let’s play show they did, it wasn’t their first ever show. That honor goes to “Awesome Video Games,” which is more of a sketch show. However, I’m still including them because this is one of my favorite live shows to casually watch. The group consists of Fraser, his girlfriend Becky, and their friends Ben, Deacon and Kyle. Over the years, the show’s been mainly hosted by Fraser and Becky, but the others still make time every so often to play games together and I just adore their friendships with each other. I also love how they involve their audience via live chat, and it’s refreshing to watch some fellow Canadians when I’m up for a stream.

5. TheKingNappy

mqdefault

As a result of me binging a few self-called PokeTubers, I found and have continued to enjoy TheKingNappy the most. While I also like and am subscribed to his friend, Shadypenguinn, Nappy came around at a time when me, my fiance and our friends liked to spend some nights playing Pokemon and trying to collect shinies through Wonder Trade. Nappy’s Wonder Trade streams soon led me to watch and enjoy many of his let’s plays of regular and hacked Pokemon games. Although he can be a bit loud and a teeny bit obnoxious during multiplayer battles, I enjoy his energy and always laugh when he rages at stuff. He’s also a pretty positive guy and never once seems bored or tired of going back to Pokemon time and time again. While he does have another channel with non-Pokemon games, it’s those LPs in particular that keep me coming back.

4. Helloween4545

bd7576cc5f8205afb527810d510a91bd-british-youtubers

After all these years, I still feel Helloween4545 is a seriously underrated let’s player. He started out making horror LPs and has continued to focus on them to this day. He does occasionally play games that are technically outside of the genre, such as “Dark Souls” or “Nier,” but I’ve always preferred watching him play scary games. My fiance introduced me to him as well and I was into him well before Markiplier came along as my other main horror let’s player. Plus, he’s from Britain, and that adds to his brand of snark and rage. His sense of humor is also pretty quirky as he loves to poke fun at cliched tropes in games and talks to the characters as if they can hear him. I honestly hope that he gets more recognition than he already has, because he’s just a joy to watch/listen to.

3. Markiplier

71cd1c1bc0fc0de0355c1eb54b3ca95b

Speaking of the man himself, I was also introduced to Markiplier thanks to my fiance and I haven’t looked back since. While I do enjoy his silly skits and oddball videos at times, it’s his horror playthroughs that I enjoy the most. Mark’s often panicky and rage-filled reactions make me laugh, but I also love the moments when he’s genuinely happy just as much. He’s also a sentimental person like myself, and it’s always sweet that he does full-blown charity streams for those who need help. Plus, it’s heartwarming to see the love he has for his fans, his friends, and his adorable pup Chica. It was a no-brainer to put him on this list, but I can say placing him at this spot wasn’t an easy decision. I enjoy watching this man day by day and .

2. Game Grumps

edbf24d2d9d68ac9368b762cb0366f84-the-game-danny

Again, placing these guys was a tough call, but this show is one of my biggest sources of entertainment on the entire internet. For me, it comes down to the dynamic of the hosts. I do like Ross, Barry, Brian, Suzy and everyone else involved with the show, but Arin and Danny are still who I think of when I think “Game Grumps.” I will always love and appreciate the early era when Jon was around, as without him the show probably wouldn’t exist and his dynamic with Arin was a lot of fun. I enjoy the bulk of Arin and Danny’s playthroughs and many of the jokes that sprung up from them. I get a kick out of Arin raging at dumb/hard games and adore Danny’s interesting life stories. I also love how encouraging they are to their audience as far as making animations, songs, artwork, etc. The show hasn’t slowed down since 2012 and I don’t see that changing anytime soon.

1. Jacksepticeye

jse2016

When I started compiling this list, I knew the number one spot had to be special. It had to be a let’s player/channel that, if I could only watch one person forever, would fit the bill. And for me, that person is Jacksepticeye. As much as I love everyone on this list and almost hated having to rank them, Jack and his channel encompass so many things to me. His let’s plays cover such a wide variety of games and genres that there’s something for everyone, and he puts his all into each one. He’s loud, funny and energetic, but I also adore his genuine and oftentimes heartfelt reactions to certain games. I especially appreciate his efforts to interact with his fans through his videos as well as social media. He has a humbleness about him that it still refreshing no matter how many subscribers he gains (16 million and counting!), and he’s always quick to point out how grateful he is to entertain so many people on a daily basis. He’s good at keeping a schedule too, so it’s easy to know when to expect videos from him. Plus, he’s Irish, and similar to Helloween, that makes his snark and occasional rage even funnier. But at the end of the day, the biggest reason I put Jack at number one is because of how positive he is. It’s easy to get caught up in negativity these days, and sometimes having an outside source of optimism can really help alleviate that. I tend to be a positive person myself, but it’s people like Jack that help me whenever that positivity wanes. I’m thankful to my fiance for introducing me to Mark, because without him, I might have never found Jack. So, as long as he’s still on YouTube, I’ll still be watching.

And that’s my top 7 list of my current fave let’s players! Do you agree, disagree, or have any faves different from mine? Feel free to tell me in the comments. Until next week!

Leave a Reply

