A Hectic Weekend

sorrento-living-busy-weekend-ahead-700x467

So, last weekend was probably the busiest I’ve had in a long while, but most of it was worth it. Early on Friday, my aunt called to ask if I wanted a drive to the city to pick up my visa, which came in the day before. I went with her and one of other aunt’s to get it, though we ran into a bit of trouble once we got to the post office in the form of a kinda rude attendant. He and I didn’t realize my package had been sent as a Flex, so he disregarded my driver’s license thinking my visa wasn’t there yet. Thankfully, I knew better and had written down the delivery number, so I was given my visa/passport immediately afterwards. I also went to try on dresses (I’ve since bought one) and had to deal with a slightly obnoxious, pushy saleswoman in the process. But the main thing I’m happy about is that I have my visa at long last. It feels great knowing that I’ve secured my chance to be with my fiance.

On Saturday, my mom and I did our yearly summer tradition of visiting a nearby Buskers festival. Thanks to some overcast weather without rain, it was the perfect day for it. I had my usual tutti-fruitti snocone and gave some money here and there to the various acts. I got to revisit some returning acts (both from Australia) and also enjoy a new favorite in the form of Toronto’s Mighty Mike. He was a take on the classic strongmen and even had the outfit to match. He was funny, gave a few inspirational speeches, and could juggle three entire bowling balls and later two torches along with a 10-pound sledgehammer. I’m not sure if I’ll get to be back next year or when it may happen, but I’ll miss it. I’m hoping one day my fiance will get to experience it as well.

Finally, Sunday had me up bright and early to do my weekly cleaning job at a dentist’s office. I spent a total of five hours there with my mom only being able to help me quickly finish the job within the last hour. It was also the hottest day of the whole weekend, so I was quick to blast the air conditioning and dreaded when I had to eventually go outside. I then spent a good chunk of my evening at a family barbecue just up the road from our place. It was to celebrate the long-awaited visit of my cousin Brad, who my parents hadn’t seen in at least 30 years. You can imagine how weird it was for me considering he’d left home around the time I was born. Still, he was nice enough and my family thankfully didn’t drill me too much on my wedding plans. Plus, free hamburgers, hot dogs and dessert is always appreciated.

At this point, I’m still slowly working away at getting things done before I head to Miami in September. While most of those things are centered on my wedding, I still have my financial situation and other important stuff to sort out. I’m also hoping to visit the flea market next month for what will probably be the last time in a while. But until I get around to all those things, I’m just relieved to have reached what’s essentially the end of my visa process.

Leave a Reply

