We’ve Been Approved!

19870598-visa-approved-immigration-stamp-for-crossing-the-border-passing-customs-for-tourism-and-passport-con

Whew, what a busy time it’s been! During my fiance’s week-long visit, we saw the rollercoaster that was the Season 10 finale of “Doctor Who,” happily and finally bought a Nintendo Switch, he got me further hooked on Thomas Sanders, and to top everything off, I’ve been approved to get my fiance visa! After so much waiting and worrying, I’ll be going to Florida to get married in September. Even though I’m currently waiting to get the visa itself, we’re excited to have made it through this entire process with ease.

The big day for my interview was on June 28th, and we flew up to Montreal the night before to give ourselves time to prepare. I was of the mindset that even if they didn’t look at all of our paperwork, I wanted to bring nearly everything just in case. So, with a large envelope full of documents, we made our way down a couple blocks to the consulate in the early morning. Once we got past the initial security and I was given a number, we were surprised to see many people in the waiting room high on the building’s 19th floor. On one side were people waiting to get family visas and passports, and on the other was people like me opting for visas via marriage, work or school.

When my number was called, my fiance and I brought up our documents to a clerk window. The clerk had her back to us as she was talking to someone else, so we kinda surprised her when she finally turned around. It was all in fun, and she immediately went to business asking us for specific things like my passport, birth certificate, and other such papers. She also had to electronically take my fingerprints, though it took me a couple tries for each hand to nail it. Not because it was hard, but because my hands were a little sweaty thanks to nerves and the waiting room being a bit warm. She was thankfully very patient, though, and we had no other problems before we were told to take a seat again.

This was the longest part of the entire ordeal, because we were stuck waiting as others were called for their interviews. We got a few chuckles when a couple of guys went up with who I assumed were their fiancees/spouses and had to trudge back to the waiting room instead. I knew ahead of time that my fiance wouldn’t be allowed to join me for my interview, so it was amusing to watch. Finally, an hour over my scheduled interview time of 9:30, I was called up. Even though I was confident in myself, I couldn’t help still being a tad nervous. Luckily, the young man who interviewed me made me feel comforted the moment he saw me. He was super nice and only asked a few simple questions about my fiance and our relationship. After a little while, he handed me a piece of paper welcoming me to the US and said my visa was approved. I surprised myself by NOT crying right then and there and thanked him. He explained when I’d expect my visa (in about a week and a half) and after I asked him a couple questions to clarify some details, I went back out to my fiance. I couldn’t keep the smile off my face when I went up to him and said, “We’re approved!”

It was an exciting morning and it only calmed down once we got back to our hotel and called/texted our parents to tell them the good news. Even after we flew back and met up with my mom, we were still eager to talk about it. It’s mind-blowing that we’ve finally reached this point, so much so that neither of us were remotely sad when my fiance left for Florida this past Monday. Now we just can’t wait to be married and start having the life we’ve wanted all this time.

Leave a Reply

