Updates Once More!

So, there’s a strong possibility that you won’t see a blog up next week. That’s because my fiance is coming up this Saturday and staying until July 3rd. I may do a short one on our experience at my interview next Wednesday, but even if I don’t, I still plan to write one up regardless by the following week. At this point, between the visit and the interview, I’m too excited to focus on anything else.

Because of that, I’ve also accomplished a few entertainment-related things within the past couple weeks. For example, I mentioned that I’ve been playing “Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia” since I got it back in May. I finally finished both the main game and post-game dungeon by last night. I’m not going to do a formal review on it, but needless to say that I feel that game’s main strengths are in its story and characters (though the art is also great). However, I still prefer most of the gameplay elements found in the other 3DS titles. Despite my slow trek through the game, I’m glad I was able to finish it on time and pave the way to play something new in the coming months.

I also managed to catch a couple movies I’d been meaning to see. The first was “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales.” I still firmly believe that the first movie is the strongest of the five we now have, though there was plenty of stupid fun to be had in this new one. Even though they’re extremely flawed, I can’t bring myself to outright dislike these movies because I just love the world and adventurous feel to them. Plus, I’m not burnt out on pirates as a concept yet.

The other movie I saw was “Cars 3”, and while I liked it far more than “Cars 2” (that’s not hard to pull off, though), it still felt bland by Pixar standards. In many ways, it reminded me of “The Good Dinosaur” in that it looked gorgeous but felt like a wasted opportunity in places. Granted, I was never a fan of “Cars” in the first place and the characters never stood out much to me. However, I will admit that I enjoyed the references to Doc Hudson aka the late Paul Newman and feel this is what “Cars 2” should have been. It’s a direct follow-up to the original film and it’s a shame that this is what we could have gotten instead of the having to contend with Mater being in a spy movie.

So, these are some of the things I’ve been up to aside from work and my daily routine of internet surfing/chatting. Like I said, it’s doubtful that I’ll blog next week, but I’ll have plenty to talk about once I get around to it. I’m just now eager to ace this interview so I can finally move on with my life. Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

