Post-Birthday Things

30-happy-birthday-cake-designs-5g2jeb-clipart

Well, I celebrated my 29th birthday on Valentine’s Day, and even with the aftermath of a bad snowstorm from the day before, it was still one of the best birthdays I’ve had in a while. I distinctly remember being sick on my birthday last year and stuck at home all day. Thankfully, this time I got to have lunch out with my mom and some chocolate cake the next day with my dad. They still plan to give me my usual birthday money of $50, and I treated myself to an early present by buying the 3DS version of “Yoshi’s Woolly World” (which is adorable and tons of fun).

It’s still weird to think that I’ll be 30 next year. It feels like not long ago that I was semi-lamenting turning 19, knowing that a year later I’d no longer be a teenager. Time sure flies. I’m happy that many people, whether it be family or friends, took the time to wish me well. I know a lot of emphasis goes on milestone birthdays, but I personally feel it’s the ones before them (like the 19th or 29th) that mean the most to me.

I’m especially excited for this year because today my fiance and I got confirmation that my fiance visa petition was approved. It’s still slow going on that front, but at least we’re seeing some progress. It’s been difficult trying to explain to friends and family that we honestly don’t know when our wedding will be, let alone when I’ll be able to move. Not knowing has been hard on us too, and at least the letter my fiance received gives us a small indication of what to expect going forward.

Of course, I don’t feel like I’m 29. I don’t think I will truly “feel” my age for a long time yet. I’ve always been a kid at heart, and I plan to retain that to a degree for as long as possible. And to everyone else who celebrated a birthday on the 14th, no matter what your age, happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

