The Darkside Beckons

tales

October is right around the corner and that means it’s time for another month of anthology blogs! I previously spent October looking at “Twilight Zone” episodes and delving into the world of “Alfred Hitchcock Presents.” However, to save time, I only looked at an episode of AHP every other day, whereas with TZ I tackled an episode a day. Well, this month I’d like to return to that. So, for the month of October 2016, I’ll be looking at an anthology series from the 80s, “Tales from the Darkside.”

I’m not sure how well-known this series is to people nowadays (heck, this is the first I’ve heard of it), but I’ll give you the nitty-gritty. “Tales from the Darkside,” unlike the two anthology series I’ve covered, contains no main host to bookend each spooky episode. However, this IS an anthology series, so every episode is its own story. From what I’ve gathered, this show was made on a low budget and serves as a successor of sorts to the anthology movie “Creepshow,” which is a homage to the old EC horror comics. That film was helmed by the famed director George A. Romero, who also produces this series. The individual stories are mostly all original works, though a few were penned and adapted by famous authors such as Stephen King, Clive Barker and Harlan Ellison. The show ran for four seasons between 1983 and 1988, and later got a movie of the same name in 1990.

Because this is a show I’m completely unfamiliar with, I’ve chosen 31 episodes based mainly around if I find their premise interesting. However, I did also make choices based on episodes that are considered some of the best, though many of these were episodes I felt like covering anyway. I apologize in advance to any fans of the show if I miss out on some great episodes, but when you have around 89 episodes plus the pilot to choose from, there are bound to be some favorites left out. So, I’ll be right back to blogging this Saturday, Oct. 1st, to kick things off. I can’t wait to jump into this show, and I hope you’ll join me for what’s sure to be a creepy look at the darkside.

Leave a Reply

