Here There Be Spoilers (Not Literally)

spoiler

I have a weird attitude when it comes to spoilers. For the most part, if I’m interested in a work, I try to avoid spoilers like the plague so I can experience it with fresh eyes. If I get invested in a TV show or find interest in the plot behind a movie, book, or video game, it bothers me when a major spoiler is revealed to me. I feel this is because I like a strong narrative. If a key component of that narrative is told to me before I have a chance to find out myself, it takes away the fun and mystery.

But there are always exceptions to the rule and spoilers are no different. If I have only a passing interest or none at all in a work, I could care less if it’s spoiled for me. On the opposite end of this, if a work has aspects of it that I’m interested in, I don’t mind having them shown to me ahead of time. A prime example of this for me lately has been whenever a new “Pokemon” game is about to be released. I’ve come to realize that I prefer planning out who I want to use, even vaguely, and what Pokemon I might like to collect well before the games are out. However, some of that attitude has stemmed from the recent influx of online leaks as well. It’s become more and more common now for information to be leaked at the chagrin of the creators. For “Pokemon”, this isn’t a big deal to me personally, but I can understand how frustrating it is for others.

Even spoilers I DO want to avoid involve basically staying away from social media. Whenever a show I like, such as “Steven Universe”, comes out, my first instinct is to immediately stay off Tumblr until I’ve seen it myself. The same could be said for Facebook and Twitter (if I had the latter). I know people either do this to troll, actually start a conversation with others who have seen the work, or just want to express their love of it through words, artwork, etc. But it’s been made clear to me that if I want to feel excited or surprised by something, it’s best to be cautious of where I look online or at the very least experience the work for myself ASAP. I realize people like to make fun of those who despise spoilers, but some of us have a very good reason to if all they do is ruin something we otherwise might have taken an interest in (“Game of Thrones”, anyone?). So, while it’s easy to say, “Hey, be mindful of spoiling stuff,” it’s more likely for me to say, “Hey, I’m going to be diligent and avoid the douchebags who keep doing it.” At the very least, a simple “Spoiler Alert” would suffice.

Leave a Reply

