Bring on 2016!

New-Year-Loading-Photos-4

Well, another year is about to end and I can’t help feeling a little relieved. While I do feel that 2015 was an improvement in many ways over 2014, I’m looking forward to the year being over just to see what 2016 brings. But before we ring in the new year, I’d like to reflect back on what 2015 meant to me personally.

Aside from bearing witness to all the awful media drama via politics, crime, etc., 2015 was a pretty good year. While I may still not have a steady job, I’ve been trying to get past putting so much pressure on myself from trying to get one. At the moment, the job I am doing benefits my mom, who’s had a rough time injury-wise since the summer. I’d still love to get a job in any of the fields I studied in college some day, but for now, I’m dedicated to helping my mom and looking toward my future with my fiance. Hopefully, within the next year or two, we’ll have concrete plans set for it.

2015 was also a year of nerdy accomplishments. Aside from beating a few games I’d been putting off, I managed to complete reading “The Dresden Files” series as documented throughout my blog. It’s the first series in a long time that I took the time to explore and one of a few to keep my interest. I also started the 11th Doctor’s comic book series and plan to see that through, plus I read and finished the colored editions of the “Scott Pilgrim” graphic novels. I saw many good movies this year and a handful of bad ones, and I’ve continued to get back into TV shows via platforms like Netflix or as recommendations by my fiance. How else would I have discovered gems like “Marvel’s Daredevil,” “Steven Universe,” or “House of Cards”?

And of course, 2015 wouldn’t be complete without not one but TWO trips to Miami to spend quality time with my fiance. I even got to up my convention visits by re-attending Megacon in the spring and checking out Wizard World in the fall. Both visits were awesome and full of great memories, but the highlight for me and possibly for the rest of my con days will always be meeting James Marsters. It was truly a dream come true and he was one of the most kindest and attentive celebrities I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. I even made the picture of myself, my fiance and him my official Facebook and Skype photo. I’ll probably never take it down. XD

So, that was some of my 2015. As for New Year’s resolutions for 2016, aside from hopefully making plans with my fiance both for visits and our future, I hope to try to exercise a bit more (dancing games, maybe?). I also have many, many video games still waiting in the wings that I haven’t touched, and I’m hoping to beat more of them alongside new games I’ll want (this also applies to books). If an opportunity, job or not, comes my way and sounds appealing, I will definitely take the risk to try something new. And finally, I will be more diligent about not worrying like my dad about money, whether it’s mine or others. I’ve noticed over this year that sometimes I would sound like him about that stuff and I don’t want to be. Life’s too short and as long as I continue to be careful with my spending and saving, I know I’ll be fine.

From me to you, have a happy 2016 and I’ll see you all back here for another year of blogging! 🙂

Leave a Reply

