Heavy Topics & Family Ties

I consider myself the neutral type when it comes to politics. I’ve never once felt the urge to vote nor the inclination to pick a side, if only because I have zero interest in the whole process. People tend to say that sometimes your political leaning can come from family. If that’s the case, then I can fully understand why I have no particular stance.

My parents, during mine and my sisters’ childhoods, never spoke about politics. Over time, we deduced which party they preferred, but they never told us their choice up front nor pushed it on us. Being the carefree kid that I was, I never found the whole thing interesting. It just seemed like a thing grown-ups had to do. And now, seeing as I AM a grown-up, I still find it boring. This is even despite doing a little political-themed work through college. I know the whole thing is important and whichever side gets power can have major pros and cons, but none of it is for me. And don’t mistake me for someone who gets hypocritical. I know there are some who don’t vote and then later complain about the changes that have taken place. For me, though, I prefer to roll with the good and bad.

Another thing I’ve learned over time is that my parents find the whole concept of same-sex marriage (and by extension homosexuality) gross. Of course, a lot of that has to do with their upbringings and when their childhoods took place. Having spent my high school years around people who admitted to being gay and knowing people through online circles who are as well, I can say that my opinion quickly changed. Initially, from what little I’d seen or known about homosexuals, I found the whole thing kinda gross too. But I realized that this wasn’t anything new and wasn’t harming me personally. Having spoken to homosexuals and bisexuals, the realization set in pretty quickly that they’re just people who want what anyone wants. I may not be an overtly religious Christian, but I’m of the mindset that everyone deserves to be loved no matter what their orientation is. And who am I to tell them how to live their life if I wouldn’t like someone doing the same with me?

I’m the type of person that doesn’t like to be in-your-face about my stance on certain topics, both in person and the internet. I hate arguments, debates and confrontation in general. But if it comes down to defending something or someone I care about, I do my best to take a stand. There are many topics I could discuss here, but I figured I’d cover the two that, for me, also tie into my upbringing. If there’s one lesson I’ve learned from growing up, it’s that I’m my own person and I don’t have to carry forth the beliefs my parents have. Family can play a big part on your stance on issues, but it’s up to you to decide whether or not it’s unchangeable.

Leave a Reply

