My Current Obsession: Smosh

smosh

I’ve been an avid YouTuber for a few years now, but there was one channel in particular that kept popping up on my recommendations that I continually brushed off. That channel is the one I’ve now been a bit obsessed with over the past week: Smosh.

Smosh is the duo of longtime best friends Ian Hecox and Anthony Padilla. They’ve been making videos since Youtube was created and mainly focus on comedic skits ranging from original ideas to parodies of video games/the internet/TV/movies/celebrities/etc. They’ve done music videos, many rap-based, and also have quite a few spin-off channels including Smosh Games (which helped get me into them), Shut Up Cartoons, and even a second channel for miscellaneous stuff like opening fan mail or just hanging out for lunch.

Now, given that their main focus is on comedy, their stuff can be hit or miss for me at times. A lot of it depends on the idea of the skit and the execution. That’s partly why I’m glad I found them through TheFineBros “Youtubers React” videos and their gameplay stuff on Smosh Games. Both give you a taste of their personalities, how they interact with their friends and each other, and, being that I’m a gamer myself, some fun gaming times in general.

In this past week, I’ve since watched the majority of their videos and channels and have subscribed to them as well. One thing I find fun with watching them, aside from their sometimes wacky antics, is that they’re my age and thus had grown up during the 90s as I did. So, basically, many of their videos have a heaping of nostalgia that I can relate to, making the humor that much better. That’s not to say some of their more original ideas haven’t been funny. but having a nostalgia factor or even just a pop cultural factor keeps me invested even more.

Because comedy is subjective, I can’t outright say that their videos will appeal to everyone. They very much play to the teenage/adult crowd and it really does come down to what interests you and makes you laugh versus what doesn’t. However, I would recommend checking them out, perhaps even by going through their backlog and seeing what catches your eye. For me, a lot of that has been video game related, such as their “Pokemon in Real Life” series and competitive gaming with Mari, Sohinki, Jovenshire and Lasercorn of the Smosh Games crew. But if gaming isn’t your thing, they have plenty more to offer.

To sum up, Ian and Anthony are two of the most fun YouTubers I’ve seen in a while. They both come off wacky even out of character, but also genuine and good-spirited as well. I’m glad I gave their videos a chance after basically shying away from them for so long, and I can’t give enough praise for the variety of videos they try to incorporate in their channels. I’m looking forward to sticking with them as they do more in the near future.

Leave a Reply

