My Fantasy Pokemon Gym

I apologize for not blogging last week, but work kinda took my enthusiasm out of doing so. As part of a challenge issued from my fiance and with the recent news of Super Secret Bases returning to the Omega Ruby/Alpha Sapphire remakes with some new gym-like features, I’m going to talk about what type of gym I think I’d personally run. While the games probably won’t let you go too crazy with customization, this is just a small taste that I feel reflects my interests and personality. You can read my fiance’s here.

My Gym:  My gym would focus on Normal types and basically be like an indoor daycare/shelter for abandoned/orphaned Pokemon. Instead of being bleak, though, there would be a blue color palette to the furnishings, walls and floor to be calming and represent my love for the color and would be basically like a living room for Pokemon to play around in. There would be a few sprites of Pokemon here and there in the background relaxing or playing to set the laid back mood of the gym as well.

Gym Puzzle: Much like the old-school gyms, mine would be a single, huge, open room. My gym would probably be the second or third, so I’d have at least 4 trainers to encounter. You can’t get past them unless you answer a trivia question pertaining to Normal types first. If you get it right, you not only get to bypass the trainer but also get free items from each one, ranging from a Potion to a Silk Scarf. If you get it wrong, you have to battle the trainer and face off against low-leveled Miltank, Tauros and Pumbloom– I mean Whismur to name a few. They won’t be nearly as tough as Whitney’s Miltank or Norman’s Slaking, but you’ll still have to stay on your toes.

My Gym Leader Dialogue: “Many assume that Normal type Pokemon aren’t as unique compared to other types. But we believe that all Pokemon are special and deserve care and respect. My Pokemon and I share that understanding. Do you?”

Once defeated: “You definitely understand that all Pokemon deserve respect. Please, take this COMPANION BADGE as a symbol of the bond between you and your Pokemon.” (The Badge looks like a shiny blue star with a small red heart in the middle.) “Take this as well.” (I hand over TM17.) “This is Protect. Use it to shield your Pokemon from devastating attacks. Your connection to your Pokemon is very powerful. May your journey allow you to bond with many more.”

My Pokemon: I would use some of my favorites, though I’d probably only fight with 3. My full team would be Lillipup, Persian, Furret and Eevee with Chansey and Kangaskhan by my side as well. The first four would just represent some of my favorite Normal types, while the other two would fit with the gym’s aesthetic for being nurturing and caring.

My appearance: My sprite wouldn’t look much different than I do and would wear casual clothes such as a pink T-shirt, dark blue pants, and white and black sneakers. My sprite would be sitting down and have one hand adjusting her glasses while the other is gently around a Teddiursa sitting on her lap.

So, that’s basically one version of a gym I think I’d have if I were in a Pokemon game. If you have ideas for your own, feel free to comment and tell me below.

One thought on “My Fantasy Pokemon Gym

  1. Pingback: Gym Leader Daffy: My Ultimate Gym | Richard's Weekly Journal

Leave a Reply

