My Top 10 Cutest Pokemon

On the challenge of my fiance, I’ve decided to continue my little Pokemon obsession by bringing you a list of 10 of my favorite cute Pokemon. I do have a few rules in place, though. The first is that I’m not including starters or legendaries since I basically like them all. And the second is that I’m only looking at one Pokemon per evolution line (with the exception of one but we’ll get to that). Keep in mind that these are all my choices and there are many more I would’ve gladly chosen past these.

On that note, let’s jump right in. Here are my top 10 cutest Pokemon:

10. Zorua

Image

Having missed out on one in White, I finally got to use Zorua in my playthrough of Pokemon X. I love this little fox for its nice, dark colors and mischievous face. While its evolution, Zoruark, is more cool than cute, Zorua is adorable and has the neat ability of shape-shifting to boot. While it’s not my favorite of the fox Pokemon, it’s become very near and dear to me.

9. Pancham

Image

I’ve always loved teddy bears, but this was a hard choice for me. Teddiursa is like a pure teddy bear Pokemon in terms of sheer cuteness. But ever since Pancham showed up, I haven’t stopped loving the little guy (or girl). Panda bears are some of my favorites and I love how Pancham is both cute and tough-looking. And it was a great touch putting that little leaf into his mouth. Teddiursa may have been my favorite bear, but Pancham has taken the top spot.

8. Furret

Image

 

Each generation has had its own Normal-type “rodent” of some sort. The original was Rattata, and the doofiest (in my mind) was Bidoof. But for me, Gen 2’s Furret, the evolved form of Sentret, is easily my favorite. I used to wish I could own a ferret, and I love Furret’s design, how slinky and striped it is. I also fell in love with it when I played a mini-game involving them in Pokemon Stadium 2. Of all the easy-to-find, kind of weak starting Pokemon, Furret stands out to me as the cutest and my personal fave.

7. Blitzle

Image

I used a Blitzle during White, and while it was a bit fragile, I loved this fast little zebra. Like most of the Pokemon on this list, its evolution, Zebstrika, falls more on the cool side. But the moment I saw Blitzle in-game, I knew I had to have it. It’s one of the best-looking Electric types I’ve used and is a bit speedy to boot. While it falls a bit short of this list’s next entry, Blitzle made it with me to the end of White and served me well throughout. 

6. Ponyta

Image

Of all the animals you’d typically think of as “farm” animals, horses are my favorite. I used to enjoy the occasional pony ride during my childhood as well, so a Pokemon as fast and cute as Ponyta appealed to me. Plus, it’s a Fire type, which I can honestly say has produced some of my all-time favorite Pokemon to date. Besides the cuteness factor, Ponyta just has an overall nice design and is handy in battles. While I tended to favor my Charizard over any other Fire type, I always made time to catch Ponyta. 

5. Lillipup

Image

There have been many dog-like Pokemon over the years, but those like Houndour and Poochyena tended to look more…mean than cute. Don’t get me wrong, I love them as well, but little Lillipup just won me over. Not only is it a cute terrier-like Pokemon, but it’s also found from the very start of your journey, making it a useful companion. While I’m not as big on its evolutions, I adored this little pup in the time that I had him. He’s my favorite since…well, the next entry on this list.

4. Growlithe

Image

 

Sure, Growlithe was the original dog Pokemon, but that’s why I love him so much. I’ve always loved and wanted a dog since I was little, and while I still haven’t owned one, having dogs like Growlithe were the next best thing. Now, granted, I’m not strictly a dog person nor a dog Pokemon person. Just like I love my cat in real life, I do love cats such as Persian and Meowstic in Pokemon. But Growlithe left more of an impression (not just cuteness) on me at the time, and I still love the little fire mutt to this day.

3. Pichu 

Image

Yes, I know Pichu is extremely weak and not great for battling, but I don’t care. In terms of cuteness, Pichu is my favorite of all the baby Pokemon, coming just ahead of Elekid in that regard. My first venture with Pokemon Yellow had me with Pikachu from the get-go, just like the anime, and from there I quickly grew to love both its baby self and evolved self, Raichu. While all three Pokemon are adorable, I always found Pikachu and Raichu to be cool. Pichu, while lacking that, is pure cuteness to me, and the fact that it evolves into my first ever starter gives it a special place on this list.

2. Vulpix

Image

 

Yep, we have another Fire type. Vulpix was the first fox Pokemon I saw, before I got into the games or anime. In junior high, I saw it in a book a friend owned and immediately fell in love with it. This also wasn’t helped by me watching the anime at a later time to discover Brock had a Vulpix as well. Both Vulpix and its evolution, Ninetales, are not just cute Pokemon to me but are also some of my all-time favorite Pokemon in general. However, there is one more Pokemon that tops it and all the rest.

1. Eevee (and its evolutions)

Image

 

Simply put, Eevee is the cutest Pokemon to me, and I’m gladly cheating when I say that ALL of its possible evolutions are just as cute in my mind. I just love the variety involved, and it all comes from one simple-looking little fox. My go-to evolution was always Jolteon in the original games, but as more evolutions have been released, I quickly loved each one regardless if I used them. I even accomplished my long-time goal of having every single Eevee evolution (including Eevee itself) in one game with X. I’m proud to say I worked to get them all and enjoy them for the cute powerhouses they are. While they might not all be the absolute best in their respective types, I can’t help liking the concept behind them and the great designs as well. Eevee has cuteness on top of versatility, and that’s why it’s my #1 cutest Pokemon.

So there you have it, 10 of my favorite cute Pokemon. These were narrowed down from a pretty big list, but they’re the ones I felt deserved to be on it the most. If you have different picks you’d like to share, feel free to in the comments. 

 

One thought on “My Top 10 Cutest Pokemon

Leave a Reply

