Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014!

Well, it’s the first official day of the new year and I can’t help feeling that 2013 just flew by. It seemed like it was only yesterday that I rang in 2013 with my parents, and now once again have done so with 2014. I’m not expecting much from the year at the moment, except that I hope it’s filled with lots of good moments and potentially a job if I’m lucky.

2013 was a pretty good year for me overall. I feel that a good chunk of that could be based on entertainment value alone. In the span of the year, I saw two great, funny musicals and many (mostly) good movies. I got into a few new shows that I will try to keep up with, something I haven’t done in a while. I played, bought and received many video games and continued reigniting my interest in books. And, as I have for the last few years, I’ve balanced my online life with my offline life, spending time with family and enjoying my online time with my friends and fiance.

Speaking of which, for the first time in our relationship, the “mini-trip” we usually plan was centered around his visit with me than my visit with him. I don’t regret this whatsoever as it gave me a chance to show him a vacation spot from MY childhood (Prince Edward Island) and let him experience a few things from it. On the flip side, my trip with him was long but relaxing and had its fair share of fun moments. We watched multiple Doctors join forces for Doctor Who’s 50th anniversary and basically spent the whole trip geeking out over the show. We attended the Miami International Book Fair, and while the weather wasn’t the best, we had a great time scouring the tons of books and comics for sale. And, of course, we got engaged within the first week I was there. It will still remain one of the most unforgettable moments of my life and rightly so.

I do regret a couple things, however. One would be taking a job at Dixie Lee throughout the summer, because although it gave me a decent amount of money, it was not worth the stress and turmoil of dealing with my boss (nor the amount of taxi money). While we’ll no doubt remain civil in the public eye, she just wasn’t the person I thought she would be. I also regret not getting to spend time with my close friends, many of whom are either working or now have a family. Making the effort to reach out to them is something I still need to get in the habit of doing, but we’re all guilty of not having time to spend together or not following through on plans. Life just gets in the way sometimes.

But as it has been for many years, the good outweighs the bad and I can’t say 2013 wasn’t a good year. By the 20th this month, I’ll have blogged for a full year, and I’m really proud of myself for sticking with it. I’m going to do the best I can to keep it up all the way through to 2015 and beyond. So, to everyone who’s read my blog, whether consistently or not, thank you. I hope 2014 is a good year for all of you and you accomplish whatever goals you set, be they minor or major. Happy 2014, everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

