Twilight Zone Marathon: “A World of His Own”

Image

Welcome back to my Twilight Zone Marathon! It’s a common idea that fictional characters sometimes seem to have a mind of their own. But what would happen if they could be brought to life and gain free will? This episode takes a look at that. Let’s check out “A World of His Own.”

Playwright Gregory West is a shy man who appears to be having an affair on his wife, Victoria. When she catches him in the act but is unable to find his mistress, he tells her his mistress is a character he created. Is that true, or is he really going mad like Victoria suspects?

This is a rare episode in that I knew practically nothing about it going in. It also was one that took some time getting me invested. The first few minutes centering around the affair felt like soap opera fodder and was pretty boring. But once Gregory starts going on about his characters coming to life, things picked up and kept my interest for the rest of it. The twist was great as well and there was a little funny surprise during the ending.

If there’s one thing I dislike about the plot, it’s the implication that Gregory gets enjoyment out of creating characters solely for having control over them. His mistress, Mary, only serves to talk nicely to him and serve him drinks. I know it’s part of the time period, but I couldn’t help but feel a little irked. Still, that’s a minor complaint as the plot overall was interesting.

Aside from the control thing, I didn’t mind Gregory as a character. He was your typical quiet, unassuming kind of guy. Victoria on the other hand was an annoying shrew. Even when she’s presented hard evidence that Gregory can make his characters come to life, she still insists on having him put into an asylum. Even by the ending, I still couldn’t see why he’d put up with her for so long. The implication is that he liked how strong and regal she is, but I thought she was just a demanding witch.

Despite its faults, I thought this was a good episode. While it didn’t catch my attention at the start, it got better as it went along. If you love stories that look at fictional characters or stories about marriage woes, this episode should satisfy you. It’s not one of my favorites, but for going into it blind, I had a good time.

Leave a Reply

