My Top 5 Character Crushes

While trying to figure out what to write about this week, I was issued yet another challenge by my boyfriend to choose some of my favorite character crushes. I could also apply my list to the actors portraying them, but characters are much more fun. As a result, I’ve chosen five of my favorite fictional men of all time.

Before I get into the list, however, I do have one honorable mention. That goes to Cole Turner/Belthazor from “Charmed,” who is pictured above. He was my favorite character on the show, though a bit of an imitation of another character I like on my list. He was attractive, pretty evil and powerful. The main reason he didn’t make my list is because his character was butchered pretty badly near the end of his time on the show. Now, with that said, let’s get on with the crushes.

5. Wolverine (played by Hugh Jackman)

Image

Wolverine is easily my favorite fictional Canadian. Not only is he one of the most popular mutants from the X-Men, but he’s just plain cool to me. And no more did that become apparent than when I first saw the character brought to life in “X-Men.” He was tough, good-looking, had a snarky attitude and could kick all kinds of butt. As the movies involving him have gone on, he’s been (in my opinion) a little too overexposed, but I still find him just as attractive now as I did from the start. And despite Jackman being Australian, he’s the only “American” character on this list.

4. Captain Jack Sparrow (played by Johnny Depp)

Jack-Sparrow-captain-jack-sparrow-11535059-240-320

Captain Jack Sparrow from the “Pirates of the Caribbean” series is one of the funniest characters I’ve ever seen put to screen. I was never a huge pirate fan until I caught the first film, and his character instantly got me invested. He’s good-looking and funny, sure, but what really draws me to his character is how cunning and tricky he is. One minute he’s a good guy, and the next seemingly a bad guy. You know he’ll ultimately be a good guy in the end (or as good as he can be), but he always keep you guessing until then. He’s the only pirate I’d ever want to go on a grand adventure with.

3. Julian Sark (played by David Anders)

Sark

Despite its rocky ending, “Alias” was and still is one of my favorite shows. And one character I loved following through it was Julian Sark. If Jack Sparrow kept you guessing despite knowing he’d be good, Sark kept you guessing even if you suspected he’d be bad. Besides being a good-looking Brit (as you’ll see in this list, I LOVE English accents), Sark was manipulative and smart. His loyalties constantly changed, going to whatever side had more power and would pay him a bundle. He could be so downright cruel and sadistic at times that, whenever he appeared on-screen, you just knew trouble wasn’t too far behind. In a show about espionage and double-crossing, Sark came out on top.

2. The Doctor (played by Matt Smith)

Matt-Smith-As-Doctor-Who-2247931

I only got into “Doctor Who” within the past year, but I’ve chosen the 11th incarnation of the Doctor for several reasons. Barring that he was my first Doctor (I’ve since gone backwards to see several more), this Doctor connected with me easily. Besides having a cute/boyish look, he is also wacky and extremely dorky. The Doctor is also brilliant and a bit of an anti-hero, in that while he’s predominantly good, some of his actions can seem awful in hindsight. However, he always looks out for his companions and tends to have a lot of fun doing so. If I were to choose someone authoritative to adventure with, this is the guy I’d want by my side at all times.

1. Spike (played by James Marsters)

spike09

If my banner above didn’t tip you off, I absolutely LOVE Spike from “Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” I’d even go so far to say that he was my first serious fictional crush. Everything about Spike screamed bad boy, but he also had a sense of loyalty that I liked. Again, besides good looks and an accent, he had a sardonic wit that made the character a riot to watch. Much like Wolverine, he also could kick butt and really let loose with his vampiric side. While I enjoyed the final season with him, I’ll always prefer his earlier appearances the most, especially his humble beginnings during Season 2. Even though it’s been over a decade since the show ended, no character has come quite as close to catching my eye AND interest the way Spike had.

And those are my top 5 fictional crushes. I apologize if this list seems brief compared to others, but I think it speaks for itself. If you have some of your own, feel free to comment below. And next week, I’ll have a special announcement blog to lead into the spookiest month of the year. See you then!

Leave a Reply

