My (Previously) Current Obsession: The Legend of Zelda

Image

Welcome to another My Current Obsession article! Now, I say “Previously” on this one because having played four Zelda games in a row for the last couple months, I’ve decided to take a well-deserved break. This article isn’t going to be the most in-depth about the series, nor will it be a typical review on each game. That being said, I do have a few things to talk about, so let’s get started.

To start off, I was never big into Zelda. I grew up with more Mario games than anything, and to date have still only played a little of the first two Zelda games.  With both being quite difficult, I never completed them. Then, one fine Christmas day, I received a Nintendo 64 with a copy of Ocarina of Time and matching strategy guide. From then on, I gained an appreciation for the series and love for the games. To date, aside from the three mentioned games, I have also played Majora’s Mask, Twilight Princess, Skyward Sword, Phantom Hourglass, Spirit Tracks, and a little bit of Four Swords Adventure and the two Oracle games (Ages & Seasons).

You might notice some games missing from that list. Well, I will now cover the games I recently got a chance to visit (and in the case of one game revisit), as well as list my personal pros and cons of each.

The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening DX (Game Boy Color)

I owned this game for quite a long time, but never really gave it a fair chance. After finding out it was the precursor to OoT as well as being good for beginners of the 2D games (which I admit sucking at), I decided to give it another try. I couldn’t be more pleased with the result, as this game had a fun, different story and characters to go with the great Zelda gameplay.

Pros: Quirky plot and characters, colorful graphics & good music, cool Mario references scattered throughout, extremely useful map & mid-dungeon teleports.

Cons: Boss fights are mostly lame, Eagle’s Tower dungeon (the second last of the game) is a bit annoying because of a pillar puzzle.

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past (Super Nintendo)

Yes, yes, I know this is considered one of if not the best Zelda game in existence. But for me, it took some getting used to, especially since both NES and SNES games can be difficult for me. Despite needing to overcome that, I really did enjoy the game and felt it was a huge improvement, even difficulty-wise, over the first two NES games.

Pros: Really did set the groundwork for future Zelda games, easier to pick up and play than previous two games, a ton of items & collectibles to find, great music & graphics.

Cons: Was quite difficult and frustrating a lot of times, easy to get confused about where to go next, going through dungeons upon dying to reach boss again was very tedious, pink-haired Link still is weird to me.

The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (Game Boy Advance)

Continuing my random pattern of playing a portable then console game, I decided to try out Minish Cap. While I prefer Link’s Awakening, MC was a fun if short experience. It was also the easiest portable Zelda I’ve played to date, though that’s not necessarily a bad thing to me. I thought the shrinking concept was great overall and wish it could be explored again.

Pros: Great graphics/environments & music, neat boss fights, tons of things to do and collect, Minish creatures are adorable.

Cons: Trying to pair up correct Kinstones was sometimes annoying, bit of a difficulty spike in Palace of Winds (the second last dungeon), Ezlo is easily the WORST partner to me – not helpful whatsoever and always complaining (even Fi and Navi seemed less annoying in comparison).

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker (Gamecube)

Now we come to the game I revisited. When I first played WW as a rental, I really enjoyed it but only got 3/4’s of the way through. Having hunted down and purchased it recently, I’m pleased to say that this time I DID beat it and had a great time doing so. To date, this was the easiest Zelda game for me as I didn’t die at all, though came close in the final battle with Ganondorf. I had a ton of fun with the game and can’t wait to watch people play through the Wii U’s HD version later this year.

Pros: Amazing graphics that still hold up, beautiful music, fun dungeons & boss battles, plenty of things to collect, plot and characters were great.

Cons: Sailing can be tedious until you get Ballad of Gales, figurine collecting (if attempted) takes up a lot of time, Tingle is a greedy douchebag.

To sum up, I have not had one “bad” experience with this series. While each game might follow the same gameplay pattern, they all feel pretty unique to me and are just fun to explore. I do know that a new Zelda is being made for the 3DS and I can’t wait for it, but for now I’m gonna enjoy my break from the series. If you’ve never played a Zelda game, give it a shot. You might just get hooked like I did.

One thought on “My (Previously) Current Obsession: The Legend of Zelda

  1. Pingback: For the Love of Zelda | Laura's Honest Ramblings

Leave a Reply

